Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hi all, I know I promised a lesson about marketing, but I ended up forgetting it was Wednesday. Whoops! The days are starting to run together, and I’m still trying to get on a regular blogging schedule…

Anyway, it’s Wednesday again, so I’m going to talk about it now.

Marketing. We all hate it, don’t we? Maybe it’s just me, but marketing is something to despise.

A lot of authors (me included) have no idea what to do when it comes to marketing. Well, lucky for me, even though I’m still figuring it out, I have discovered a few things to help with that.

If you have a Facebook page, Twitter account, and any other social media account, you’re going to want to look at when your most popular posts are seen. You’ll want to schedule posts for that time, and more people will see it.

Post often. The more often you post, the more people will see it. Some of those people will want to buy it!

Make connections. If you connect with other authors, they may want to help to promote it. They may want to actually buy your book.

Don’t be spammy. Yes, I just said to post often, but there’s a difference between posting often and spamming everyone. Don’t just send out a ton of links and expect everyone to be okay with it. Don’t message everyone saying, “Buy my book,” and expect to make a ton of money. It doesn’t work like that. That’s not connecting. That’s spamming everyone, and quite frankly, it’s annoying.

Some of these may seem obvious, but I’m still learning. What are you doing to market your book? If you have any tips that aren’t mentioned here, comment below!