Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hi all, I am so sorry about the long break I took! It seemed like everything happened at once, and I just got so lazy with it. I’m back now, though, and hopefully I will be back to posting normally like I used to.

It’s Wednesday, so we’re going to be looking at a lesson. Today, we’re talking about promotion.

I feel like I have talked about this a lot in the past. But it’s become important to me again, so here we go.

I feel like a lot of authors dream of being able to write full time. I know I do. I’m trying to do what I can to get the word about my books (yes, books! Resilient is out now: http://amzn.to/2gqWBXf)

So what do you do to get the word out there about your books? Well, you can post about it on social media. That’s bound to get a few sales. Heck, mine did. Someone bought Days of the Kill for her husband on his birthday! Say what???

Anyway, you can also get it in book stores. If you’re with a publisher, that may happen a little easier, although not much. I don’t have mine on any shelves, but it’s in a lot of UK online bookstores (did I mention I’m American and have never been to the UK?)!

Talk about it with everyone you meet. Not everyone is going to buy it, and you just have to accept that. We are human beings, and all human beings are allowed to have their own tastes. Just be civil when you get rejected, because that will happen.

One other thing that really helps, is getting out there and holding a book signing. Yes, you knew it had to come eventually. That’s where I’m focusing a lot of my energy in 2017. I may or may not have signed up for five next year in the past five days… Those hotels are going to get expensive.

Whatever you do to promote, make sure you just get out there, and please be polite! You’ll get farther. I promise. 🙂

What do you do to promote? What has worked? What hasn’t worked? Let me know in the comments!

download (18)