Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello, everyone. We’re back to another lesson this week. I know, I know, I missed last week. That’s okay. At least I haven’t disappeared for a few months, like I’ve been known to do. 😉

This week, we’re looking at overcoming that gosh darn rut we seem to get ourselves stuck in. Sometimes, we call it writer’s block.

Personally, I don’t like the term “writer’s block.” That’s something that I don’t believe should be a thing. Look around, and you’ll find ideas all around you. There’s no reason to get stuck with this block.

Sometimes, however, we do get stuck. We hit a wall. We’ll run out of ideas. That’s perfectly fine. But you know what? You can push through it. Write a bunch of nonsense on paper for a while. You’ll get to comprehensive sentences sooner or later. Sometimes my best ideas come from that!

I’ve mentioned before that there was some famous person that suggested writing for ten minutes non-stop. I never did find the name of that person, although I should… (somebody help me out if you know it, please).

Writing for ten minutes non-stop is an amazing way to get going. Yeah, okay, so most of it’s going to be complete crap. I realize that as much as you do. Sometimes, though, you have this amazing thing that comes out of writing that complete crap. I sure have (although, to be fair, I was in a pretty dark place in my life at the time, so it doesn’t take long to figure out why the dark parts of my writing were the best…I couldn’t do sunshine and rainbows).

Write complete crap if you get stuck. Some of the best ideas come from that.

What do you do if you get stuck? Let me know in the comments!

download (1)